The Saüyutta Nikàya is the third book of the Sutta Piñaka, the second division of the Tipiñaka, the sacred scriptures of Buddhism. The word saüyutta means `connected' or `related'. Traditionally there is said to be 7762 suttas or discourses in this book, but actually there are not quite 3,000. These discourses are arranged roughly according to features they share Ý subject matter, whether they have verses in them, where they were spoken or the people they were spoken to. A large proportion of the discourses in the Saüyutta Nikàya open by saying: `At Sàvatthi' which suggests that this book was arranged in that city.